As a new writer, how do you get publishing credits? I’ll tell you how I got mine.

I sat on a cold concrete bench, surrounded by blooming pink flowers and buzzing bees gathering pollen. I nervously awaited the arrival of Burbank Police Department’s two newest recruits. I was on my first interview assignment.

Earlier in the week, I called the editor of the BurbankNBeyond.com, a local Burbank newspaper. I called hoping to get a meeting. Instead, I was reminded of how under-qualified I was to report on the happenings around Burbank. Although my grandma lived her all her life, I was a new resident and not too familiar with Burbank politics. In the end, I was kindly given a chance to submit my work.

After my nerve-wracking interview with Burbank’s two newest police officers, who were very accommodating and gave me a lot of great information for my article, I rushed home to start typing. I was aiming for 500-800 words, but had trouble getting about 350. I knew that was the most I would get out of this article with the information I got during the interview, so I sent it off. My article was edited and published that night.

The article was published here: http://burbanknbeyond.com/03/sections/policefire/police-activities/burbank-police-add-two-new-officers-to-ranks/

The next morning, I stared at my name in print for about 10 minutes before I sent off an excited e-mail to all of my family and friends. They immediately linked to the article, liked it on Facebook, and e-mailed back their congratulations. I am grateful to have the support of so many people, even if it’s just via a “like” on social media.

In my lifelong dream, I always pictured myself at a small, oak desk, in front of a picturesque beach scene, listening to the ocean waves crashing on the shore and tasting the salty air as my fingers clicked away at my next bestselling novel. Instead, I’m in an uncomfortable wicker chair that is a hand-me-down from my grandma, writing my blog. Hopefully dreams do come true.

What is your dream, and how are you pursuing it?

