Image courtesy of http://boscafelife.wordpress.com/

What is your writing routine?

Although I’m usually excited to come home from my day job and start working on my writing, I still enjoy having certain routines in place to set the mood. I’m not complicated; just having Jazz music playing and a glass of water (or wine) will do the job. I also like to have freshly sharpened pencils.

Here are some ideas to help you develop your own writing routine, or to incorporate into your existing one:

  • Play music to help you focus
  • Light a candle
  • Meditate before you start
  • Set goals (i.e. “I will write 1,000 words a day.”) and post them where you can see them
  • Choose a location
  • Choose a time of day you would like to write, and try to stick to that

Here are some links for more ideas:

Please share your writing routine. What works for you? What have you tried that doesn’t work?

