I set a goal this year to outline a novel and to write six well-polished chapters. My struggle was deciding on what type of fiction to write. Naturally, the first place I turned to for advice was my best friend, Google, who told me that I should write the type of books that I like to read.

I felt uneasy about that advice, so I turned to the members of my LinkedIn group, “Aspiring Writers,” who told me the same thing.

That was a problem.

Most of the books that I read are thrillers or crime novels, but I wanted to write chick-lit. It was like I already knew the answer, but I was going to keep asking people until someone told me what I wanted to hear.

I got what I was looking for.

During my last writing group class, I asked my teacher what she thought. She told me that I should write what I want to write. Bottom line.

Chick-lit it is, I thought.

I got further confirmation when I read Kristen Lamb’s blog post about finding your voice. It was very helpful and I was reassured that I should write what comes naturally. That may or may not be my favorite genre to read.

I want to know:

Do you write what you like to read, or not?

